PDA

View Full Version : finding tempos


knothardly
07-15-2015, 03:10 PM
what is a good tool or software for finding the tempo of a pre-recorded audio track or song?

Glenjb
07-15-2015, 03:43 PM
If you double click the red diamond in the tempo lane it will open a dialogue box and you can tap the 't' key on your keyboard to set the tempo. I hope that helps somewhat....

Benoni
07-15-2015, 03:48 PM
As mentioned Tap tempo works good.

If you are talking about the bpm of songs you buy, then www.songbpm.com works as well, or if who ever put out the song is really thorough with meta-data you can see the BPM in the properties.

knothardly
07-15-2015, 03:51 PM
mainly talking about for doing covers and the like but can be useful for other things. thnx guys... did not think of checking metadata but some commercial tracks don't have complete metadata i have found. cheers

Benoni
07-15-2015, 03:52 PM
mainly talking about for doing covers and the like but can be useful for other things. thnx guys... did not think of checking metadata but some commercial tracks don't have complete metadata i have found. cheers

This might help too
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdCZZaZMPLA

knothardly
07-15-2015, 04:04 PM
cool benoni... that'll work just fine. thanks

audioman1973
07-17-2015, 07:31 AM
I use a metronome. Sorry but being a drummer I just couldn't resist........please don't shoot me!

knothardly
07-17-2015, 08:23 AM
no probs... :)

elicious
07-17-2015, 04:20 PM
also, for others reading this;
assuming your audio lines up at the start of the timeline,
you can set the visible grid to quarters,
clic in the manual tempo field,
and scroll the mouse up or down and see the grid lines match up to the track.
e