PDA

View Full Version : will 44khz change the playback speed in a 48khz project?

Dan Wake
02-14-2015, 03:02 PM
Hello to anyone, my DAW is Pro Tools 10 HD and I work as sound designer, I'm a sound designer student for cinema. My next buy could be a pair of radio mics brand model "Rode rodelink filmmaker kit", its are lavaliers.
The problem is this. The product specs say that those radio micrphones can reach only 44kHz but I need to work at 48kHz 24bit because it's the cinema standard. So if I must start a new audio movie project in Pro Tools I must set it at 48khz 24bit. So I must work in Pro Tools at 48khz 24bit for movie production and as far that I know if I import 44khz audio files into a 48khz session it will convert the file, so it will increase the playback speed (or slowdown I do not remember). But it will -change- the playback speed because of the conversion: is this true?
If yes is this change enough big to cause problems? Is it better to find other radio mic models? It's that those ones that I'm looking for are are relatively cheap and they are a new model.

Thanks a lot for help. :)

Dan

GregV
02-14-2015, 06:13 PM
There is nothing in a microphone that determines what you can or cannot record it to. If you plug that mic into Pro Tools you can record it at any sampling rate you want. You can plug it into a DAT machine, minidisc, or cassette 4-track. The mic doesn't matter.

I think you might be confusing sampling rate with the mic's transmitter frequency. That is just a radio frequency that allows the mic signal attached to the actor to be received by the sound engineer. But what the engineer does with it is not determined by the mic's frequency.

Lastly, when you import audio into Pro Tools it automatically converts files to the session sample rate. So if you do field recordings on a portable unit you can import the files into Pro Tools and they will play back properly.

Hope that helps!...

Benny_Cha_Cha
02-15-2015, 07:52 AM