PDA

View Full Version : M-Audio as a DAC?


jackson92119
12-21-2014, 10:57 AM
I use my M-Audio interface as a Digital audio converter out to my Home theater receiver. I am not sure how much Pro tools compresses audio or if I would be better off unplugging Pro tools and getting a seperate DAC which could have better specs. When Pro tools is running all my audio goes out of the M-audio interface and I am thinking that it compresses the audio first and then sends it out, so if I had a high definition song, like 24/96 pro tools might compress that to 16/44 or something. Thanks for help.

Park Seward
12-21-2014, 11:39 AM
The DAC will take the digital signal and convert it to analog. If the signal is 24/96, that is what it will use in conversion. There is no reason to convert to 24/44.1 before converting to analog.

mesaone
12-21-2014, 12:03 PM
What he said ^

Pro Tools doesn't compress anything. It's not a streaming hub or a media player. PCM in, PCM out. Make sure to set your Pro Tools session to 24/96 if that's what you want to send to the receiver.

As long as your receiver is using analog inputs, it will simply matrix and pass the audio through. You should have no issue using the M-Audio interface as a home theater feed.

Craig F
12-21-2014, 12:20 PM
no, Pro Tools is pass-through unless you have a data compression plug-in engaged and most of those are not real time

jackson92119
12-23-2014, 05:03 PM
Ok, thanks guys. I am glad to hear that, saves me some money on DAC.