PDA

View Full Version : Assigning a midi CC to a fader

tigerman
01-27-2010, 03:04 PM
Hi, i would like to assign a fader of my master keyboard to the mater aux fader in order to control volume of the entire project, so i do not have to use the mause all the times.

that "link" should be indipendent from the track i have selected in the edit window.

Is it possible? I'm coming from Logic so i'm still learning, i've browsed all pro-tools menu but i can't see anything related do midi cc, do i need a compatible control surface in order to do that ?
No way to have just the volume on a fader controlled by a midi cc?

thanks

tonwurm
01-29-2010, 02:58 PM
nope - so far I know

lifer
01-31-2010, 06:55 AM
This is a MAJOR flaw with Pro Tools.
You have to have a HUI compatable control surface or purchase one of the controllers from Digidesign.
I am dying to build a custom controller of my own since there is a huge gap between the functionality and cost of current surfaces.
Sadly unless Avid change their policy or you know a reverse engineer bod, you are stuck.
If you just want one fader i suggest you purchase either Frontier Designs Alphatrack or a Presonus Faderport and use their HUI mode.

jeremyroberts
01-31-2010, 08:36 AM
This is a MAJOR flaw with Pro Tools.
You have to have a HUI compatable control surface or purchase one of the controllers from Digidesign.
I am dying to build a custom controller of my own since there is a huge gap between the functionality and cost of current surfaces.
Sadly unless Avid change their policy or you know a reverse engineer bod, you are stuck.
If you just want one fader i suggest you purchase either Frontier Designs Alphatrack or a Presonus Faderport and use their HUI mode.

It's not a major a flaw. The OP needs to RTFM. Read up on master faders, busses and auxes.

John_Toolbox
01-31-2010, 09:33 AM