PDA

View Full Version : How do you make Production/Imaging Elements?

Nate Zona
10-10-2009, 11:35 AM
I could easily go out and buy an FX cd, but I'm an aspiring sound designer damnit!

I have searched the web high and low looking for any help and have found nothing!

Can ANYBODY tell me how to make the sounds you typically hear in radio spots?

Bursts, Sweepers, Choppers, Washes, Whooshes, Bumpers, ext, ext, ext.

!!!!

Ryan Young
10-10-2009, 12:38 PM
By buying a sound effects cd/library and mixing sounds together.

Get a yard stick and "whip" it by the microphone, then pitch it down a lot and add reverb.

obiwan177
10-10-2009, 12:43 PM
Record random things and mutilate the crap out of them with crazy effects. Your bound to end up with something cool! :D

Nate Zona
10-10-2009, 01:18 PM
Thanks! With how the internet is today I am very surprised there is not detailed youtube tutorials on this sort of thing, haha!

daeron80
10-12-2009, 06:23 AM
Intern with a pro foley artist for a few months.

albee1952
10-12-2009, 09:28 AM
Intern with a pro foley artist for a few months.
That's a great idea. Also, scrounge pawn shops and such for vintage synths. Some of those old beasts could make awesome sounds.

Keybeeetsss
10-12-2009, 09:43 AM
Record random things and mutilate the crap out of them with crazy effects. Your bound to end up with something cool! :D
YEAHPPP'ski!!!!

ondruspat
10-12-2009, 10:33 AM
obiwan177 gave you the basic gist of it. Listen to sounds around you and think what they would make you imagine in a different context. Also check out some of your favorite movies on DVD, sometime they have cool production features in the bonus material. That can give you some insight into how they came up with certain sounds.