PDA

View Full Version : I have a question on Mastering

Kinh
05-14-2009, 11:02 PM
Hi, Im kind of new at this sort of thing so you'll have to excuse my ignorance but I was wondering if you pros could answer a question.
What is the objective when mastering? Is it to replicate exactly how you hear the sound in the studio at 24bits during the process of transfering it to 16. Or is it to simply to enhance the sound after its recorded and then transfer it to 16 while somehow retaining those enhancements.
One would assume it would be the later however how can this be accomplished when losing so much data when converting to cd?

DigiTechSupt
05-15-2009, 10:27 AM
Typically mastering is meant to even out the levels between songs, so they're equal from song to song (you're not turning up or down the volume level on your stereo for each song), bring the levels up to a 'pro' level, fix any minor issues with EQ, compression, etc. that may have come out during the mixing process, giving the the songs an overall consistency.

There's a lot more (or a lot less, depending) that can be done, but those should be edge cases and not what mastering is normally used for.

jazzdrumr
05-15-2009, 12:03 PM
Also, mastering is the point where the mixes are optimized for the various delivery mediums, i.e. Vinyl, CD, cassette (in the day), Mp3 etc. The MIX you'd put on a CD could never be the same as an LP. The needle would fly of the record.

DrFord
05-26-2009, 11:20 PM
+1 jazz drummer.

Although nowadays (more often than not) mastering is about making music louder.
In a recent experience with Bob Ohlsson part of his mastering process was to add a bit of distortion to my bottom end to make it pop more, and also he removed squeaks from the accoustic guitar with specteral filtering...

CRAZY!

Mastering can be many things, as well as printing the final CD (redbook audio) that goes to the printer.

HTH

mdanielson007
05-27-2009, 09:47 AM