PDA

View Full Version : Bass Guitar

thenchel
12-29-2008, 07:46 PM
I have been working on numerous songs and am trying to get the bass parts recorded now. I have been going directly into the 002 rack and it hasn't been sounding all that great. I've tried EQ, slight overdrive, and comressing, but I still cannot get the sound I am looking for (which is thrash/black metal)
I am a guitarist/producer. I can transition to bass pretty well, so I know its not a technique issue. With using what I have, I am not getting the bass to sound right.
I don't have a bass amp, so Direct In is the only way to go. With using only what I have (bass, EQ and compression plug ins and 002 Rack) does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Premo
12-29-2008, 07:56 PM
Maybe try demoing some plug-ins like IK Multimedia AMPEG SVX (http://www.ikmultimedia.com/ampegsvx/) and or try using a guitar plug-in like Eleven (never tried on Bass specifically but amazing on guitar for adding life to a lifeless instrument!) or even Metal Amp Room by Softube (http://www.softube.se/metal_amp_room.php) for a dirty growling bass or distorted bass sounds.

I'd try them in that order too. It's all personal preference so just gotta try em out and see. I believe those are all fully functional plug-ins as demos too. Report back and let us know how it goes~! :-)

TCM
12-30-2008, 12:11 AM
I believe Izotope's Trash lite comes with the Ignition pack!
Try this one.
Another suggestion is Amplitube or Ampeg Uno.

Hope that helps!

ondruspat
12-30-2008, 04:01 AM