PDA

View Full Version : Recording with Tube Pre-amp

shultzee13
11-04-2008, 11:47 AM
I am sure this has been covered before but I just bought a Presonus Blue Tube pre-amp. I wanted something better than the Ultragain Pro from Behringer. I bought this to run my entire mix through to "warm-up" my finished projects on Pro Tools.

Can anyone chime in here that is using one of these to do the same thing? I want to know what others think of the sound quality and if it really warms things up as they all say.

I know the DBX 386 is better but it's almost twice the price. I've heard some really great things about Presonus gear.

Thanks in advance.:-)

tha]-[acksaw
11-04-2008, 12:23 PM
I have a PreSonus Blue Tube as well. I have been using the thing for about two years. Let me first say that I have been able to get some great recordings with it.

BUT... I recently got an M-Audio Octane 8. I did not realize how much the Blue Tube colored the sound until I tried out the Octane. The Blue Tube adds a lot of high end color to the sound. Its hardly a flat sounding PreAmp. I would not say its a bad Pre for $200. I just hate having to EQ something like a vocal, which should not need that much work, just cause the PreAmp adds too much to the high end. I have almost stoped using it.

As far as the Tube Stage. Don't be confised about this Pre. Its not a Tube Pre. Its a Solid State with a built in tube stage. By no means does the tube sound warm. I have tried adding the tube stage on vocal, acoustic guitar, miced guitar cab, horns, miced Leslie speaker, DI guitar and drums. The only way I even liked it was if I added the tube when gecording DI electric guitar. After recording with the tube I found that if I re-amped the DI guitar recording through a guitar cab and then mic the cab, the tube distortion from the Blue Tube added a nice tone to the guitar cab. But the DI track with the tube by itself sound no so great.