PDA

View Full Version : Guitar Editing and Mixing...

supersean89
10-22-2008, 09:14 AM
Hi.

I am fairly new to protools, and I have recorded a guitar track which i want to use.

What techniques and tools can i use to make the sound of the track better?
Commpression and EQ seem to be used quite alot... High and Low pass filters?

Its a distorted guitar, not too heavy but still resonably distorted. When I play it back, it has a bit of unwanted bass... It sort of sounds like I recorded bass and guitar at the same time.

Any help and tips are greatly apriciated :) Thanks,
Sean.

elicious
10-22-2008, 05:18 PM
all in on the hpf... digi's eqIII is fine for that...
consider automating it between parts where it's on top of the kik & bass vs when it's solo.
when you get some more time under your toolbelt, experiment with multi band compression so your gtr won't thin out when it's higher up the frets.
otherwise you need to have a vision, a goal for your tone.
if you're kinda new, import a couple of relevant song examples (making sure they're not going through any mix buss comp or eq) and use that as a guide.
b.o.l.
e

supersean89
10-23-2008, 12:32 AM
Thanks for the help...

I do a have sound in mind that i want to reach in the end. But i guess its just trial and error untill i get it right.

I have the protools LE ignition pack 2... Do you think there is any need to go and buy additions plug ins ect that are required to get a decent sound?

elicious
10-23-2008, 01:17 AM
hey sean, don't know what comes in the ignition pack, but no matter, the free digi rack plugs sound fine, and for now, use and abuse them to learn what effect they have on your tone... just like on a gtr; just crank a few knobs till it's right.
i know you're kinda lookin for the step 1, step 2 advice on the holy grail gtr sound (y'know the "sounds sick" plug), but really it gets back to the gtr, head, cab, mic, and where you place it.