PDA

View Full Version : Effect recommendations

DonaldM
10-04-2008, 07:23 AM
Up til now I've mainly been using D-Verb and Delay that came with my PT LE 7.4. They've worked well, but I was wondering what suggestions/recommendtions some of you pros might have for adding to the effects aresenal in PT? Which ones do you find work best?

Thanks

albee1952
10-04-2008, 08:06 AM
I like and use the DIGI delay plugs a lot but Dverb gets little use(only when I need simple, subtle or trashy). I like the IK Classik verbs. I here that Breverb is very nice so check if they have a demo version. I use Waves TrueVerb quite a bit but its odd to edit. The TL Space is great sounding(and part of the MPTK so the package gets you several things-BUT wait for the new version of PT before you buy that. Waves Rverb is good sounding and comes with the Reinnesance Bundle which I think is a good value(as the Rcomp and Req are very nice as is the de-esser).

Stig Eliassen
10-04-2008, 08:06 AM
I'm not a pro, but on the RTAS side I like Altiverb. I can also recommend Acousticas EMT245 impulse responses to go with it. I've also heard many good things about Overloud's Breverb, but haven't tested this myself.

For delays I also use from the Digirack plugins, in addition to EchoBoy and Eventide plugins, but I don't think Eventide is available as native plugins. A tip regarding delays that I got from Kenny Gioia - feed the delay (no feedback in the delay plugin) back into itself via a send, and then instantiate an eq, a filter, a modulation plugin, or whatever plugin to add some spice and 'movement' in the delays. This will very often sound more interesting, as no delay repeat will sound the same.

Digital Network
10-04-2008, 08:18 AM
For delay, I mainly use EchoBoy and Lexicon (PSP plugins), Lexicon MX 400 too (hardware). For reverb, I use Breverb.

Where can I read Kenny Gioia's tip ?

DonaldM
10-04-2008, 08:20 AM