PDA

View Full Version : Removing Graphic EQ from Monitor Bus?


jcornelius
02-16-2007, 11:01 AM
I am using the Graphic EQs on my main outputs for system EQ. When using the "Mix to Monitors" button to listen to the main mix the pickoff for the monitor bus appears to be post GEQ. Is there a way to pickoff the monitor bus pre inserts/GEQ?

I apologize if I am missing something really obvious, but so far haven't been able to figure this out.

Thanks for the help.

John

Sheldon Radford
02-16-2007, 02:37 PM
Hi John,

The built-in GEQs are always "in line" so you'll hear their effect on Mix to Monitors - but there is at least one other approach that will do what you need.

Route the Mains Left/Right bus to one of the PQ mix buses (a PQ bus is essentially a stereeo matrix), insert a GEQ on the PQ output (instead of Mains) and feed this to the PA. This gives a clean feed to Mix to Monitors, as the GEQ is now downstream of the monitor point.

Sheldon

jcornelius
02-16-2007, 04:36 PM
Thanks.

I had already considered using the matrices/PQ as a workaround. I'll go and route my stereo bus to a PQ.