PDA

View Full Version : 48 aux


rgr
12-20-2006, 07:12 AM
Hi there again,

In PLASA I was attending the demos and two stage racks were linked with a BNC T . Is this a way to double the number of auxiliaries available for each channel? how it will work? can I have control over every channel on each surface or they divide across the two consoles?

well, I have more questions regarding this config, but this are the most importnat ones ;-)

Merry Christmas to you all!

rgr

Sheldon Radford
12-20-2006, 10:22 PM
Hi,

We sometimes use a simple BNC "T" on our demo systems in order to make the exact same playback sources available to both systems without running additional analog cables. This is what was being done at PLASA.


Is this a way to double the number of auxiliaries available for each channel?



Kind of. You essentially have the same signals going to two independent consoles, each with 24 mixes. This can work in a two operator scenario (one for each console), and can be made to work with one operator, but with several important caveats in both cases.

This topic was discussed in detail on this Pro Sound Web thread (http://srforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/m/124110/450/?srch=digidesign+venue#msg_124110)

Here's the relevant bit from the thread:

For someone really wanting the split solution, there are a few options.

Disclaimer: We haven't qualified either of the following configurations; I'm simply passing along what others have done with apparent success. You should definitely contact one of our Product Specialists or Customer Service reps before attempting either of these...

Option 1: use the redundant snake output to feed a second mix engine instead of as a true redundant feed to a single engine. This is the same solution as provided by other consoles currently on the market and using copper co-ax snakes.

Caveats: the slave console has very little gain control (~ 3dB), and only the Master console can feed its outputs back to the local mix rack. The Slave console can feed its local rack outputs or a second stage rack. Both consoles can't feed a common stage rack because the stage rack doesn't do any mixing or routing of signals coming from two distinct outputs, this all happens in the mix engine.

Option 2: split the stage snake output to two mix engines. This can be done passively using a BNC "T" or using a digital video splitter.

Caveats: same limited gain control as described above, plus the snake length is halved if using a passive "T" split.

rgr
12-21-2006, 12:50 AM
Kind of. You essentially have the same signals going to two independent consoles, each with 24 mixes. This can work in a two operator scenario (one for each console), and can be made to work with one operator, but with several important caveats in both cases.

This topic was discussed in detail on this Pro Sound Web thread



Hi Sheldon,

Thank you for your really informative answer. I read all the Pro Sound thread, but people there seems more interested into have a stage split for monitors. I'm more interested into know wich are the possibilities in a more than 24 mono mixes or 12 stereo mixes scenario.

I understand quite well how the system work with this BNC T solution, gain control in this setup will not be a problem.

Consoles are independent here, and each one has their own mixes. for a single operator will be strange to operate a system like that. Maybe you can provide support to cascade surfaces in the future? some kind of "monitors mode" or "48 aux mode" where one of the consoles act as a layer instead of having separate mixes control.

imagine two profiles. my wish is that when I choose aux 1 mix, first layer has channel 1-24 in the first Profile and 25-48 are available at the second profile acting as a single console.

this not only solve the 24 mono mixes limit but also gives you 48 faders in a layer

thank you for your help.

rgr

Scott Fahy
12-21-2006, 07:53 AM
I concur that a 48 aux/24 stereo would be a fantastic feature. I'm running a Soundcraft FIVE with 32 mixes plus 9 Aviom mixes on top of that. Having the Venue plug ins and on board compressors/gates would make life much simpler. Hey it's just more lines of code so what's the big deal

Scott

sskendall
12-23-2006, 04:11 PM
Anything to get more mix sends. My first impression of the Venue was that 24 auxes and 8 VCAs is FAR too few for a cutting-edge, brand new desk, at least in monitor world. As it stands, the only way I was able to use the Venue over this past year was to send inputs direct to plug-ins, so as to avoid wasting auxes on effects sends, but that involves its own set of complications, and eats up DSP more than it should. I know a few other mixers wanting to use the Venue, but they balk at the idea of having to link 2 systems in order to get more than 24 mixes. I love the desk, and I don't want to use anything else, but the chances are good that my next project will require a system with more than 24 mixes. If only there was an option to transform the PQ feature into more real mixes . . .