PDA

View Full Version : Frontier Tranzport

Stig Eliassen
09-21-2005, 04:48 PM
Hi.

Is this controller any good? I'm fed up with long pre-roll/countoffs while speeding to my recording room. I do most of my work alone in the studio, and running back and forth isn't a good workflow. I really like that you can select and arm tracks, and adjust levels with the Tranzport. Are there better alternatives in the same price range?
Thanks.

ripple FX
09-21-2005, 06:36 PM
I've been using one for about 3 months and find it very convenient for just the scenario you describe. I also like sitting on the couch with my tranzport and wireless talkback switch directing voice over sessions. It has a rather limited LCD window for information, so I use it primarily as a transport controller.

If I need more extensive control of PT, then I use my Powerbook in the booth running VNC software to control PT on my G4, both with Airport cards. It's a little slow responding, but very handy.

I wonder if anyone makes a "reverse" KVM switch that switches one computer between two displays/USB? Then you could have full control of PT from the booth. Hmmm.......

Craig F
09-21-2005, 07:10 PM
that would be an extender http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=2294

ripple FX
09-21-2005, 07:30 PM
That's certainly a great extender. But I'm talking about a switch. Let's say I'm in the control room and need to go to the booth for some overdubs. I throw a switch that turns off my monitor and keyboard in the CR, and sends those to the Gefen extended KVM in my booth.

gwailoh
09-21-2005, 07:50 PM
Instead of a switch you could use a dual monitor plus a wireless keyboard & mouse. That was my intention, before the TranzPort became available.

Brad Ryan
09-22-2005, 08:36 AM
I 2nd the VNC approach..

I use my laptop and control the machine in the control room.. I can record drum tracks by myself all day.. If you have wireless and a laptop it is the way to go!!

-Brad

Craig F
09-22-2005, 11:24 AM