PDA

View Full Version : How to record more 16 tracks simult. in PTLE ?


plexi666
08-14-2005, 09:32 AM
Hi all,

i have a 002R and i would like to use it to record a Gig. I need to be able to plug at least 16 individual tracks and record them into PT simultaneously. Any idea how i can do that ?

Mackie just released a new compact 16 tracks desk (Onyx 1640) with a Firewire interface. Can i plug that into PT ??

Do i need to use the Midi I/O ? If yes, with what interface ?

Thankx Guys,

Anth.

Third Eye Studios
08-14-2005, 09:59 AM
You can record 18 simultaneous inputs with and 002.

Inputs
1-4 Mic ins
4-8 Line ins (connect 4 outboard preamps)
9-16 ADAT ins (connect Presonus Digimax or something comparable with an ADAT out)
17-18 Spdif ins (connect 2 ch preamp with spdif out)

Have fun.

plexi666
08-14-2005, 12:37 PM
Hi Third Eye,
thankx for the tip.

But is this going to work ? I mean, the ADAT only support 48khz, so if i record a session to 96khz, it wont work, right ? How about the clock ? can i use external clock still using the 4 pres of the rack ?

Advice anyone ?

Thankx !!!

Boombatty
08-14-2005, 02:47 PM
You can only record up to 10 tracks at 96kHz anyway so 48kHz is your top sample rate for 16 at once. You can use the 002 as the master clock or whatever ADAT interface you buy since the clock is carried through the lightpipe. Be sure that it is set correctly on the ADAT hardware and in the Pro Tools software.