PDA

View Full Version : MBox beginner seeking basic recording help!

mezgo
07-19-2005, 09:01 PM
Please bear with me folks. I am a new user to my M-Box and have had difficulty finding answers to my questions in my reference manuals.

I am a Bassist. I'm technically challenged sometimes. I have learned how to record a drum track with my drum machine onto track one. It plays back beautifully. I am using near field monitors to playback my tracks.
I want to record a bass track on track two. What do I need to do in order to play back track one while simultaneously recording track two? When I roll the mix knob hard left (as I did for the drum track) I can hear my bass signal, although cannot hear the drum track. When I roll the mix knob right to gain a drum track signal, the bass track I record is distorted and cracking. This is probably really simple, but until I get some help I'm literally dead in my tracks... "Help!"

Zave
07-21-2005, 08:20 PM
Hi- I'm a bass player/mbox beginner myself - you're not alone.
Anyway, with regard to your questions:
Firstly, about the "distorted and cracking" sound of your bass you describe - how are you plugged in? I'm assuming your taking the output of your bass straight into the mbox. If so, make sure it's set to the "inst" source setting and that the gain on that channel isn't too high - is the peak LED coming on when you play? If so, turn it down until it just barely flashes when you're playing hard.
Secondly, to record your bass track - in protools, mute the track you're going to be recording your bass to, so that you don't get the delayed signal while you're recording (latency). Then set the mix knob on the mbox so that you can hear both your "live" bass and the drum tracks from PT. Record arm the bass track, hit record in the transprt window, hit spacebar/play, and lay down your track.
Hope that helps.

Zave

filosofem
07-21-2005, 09:25 PM