PDA

View Full Version : How useful is the control surface

bigbubbaj
08-31-2004, 02:22 PM
Anyone here using a command 8 with a 002r? Does it work well?

I am pretty used to in the box, but how useful is the control surface?

Listening and moving knobs and faders instead of clicking...

Is it worth the $$ ?

kcurry
08-31-2004, 06:35 PM
That's a tough question. If you've been working on screen with Pro Tools and you don't have much experience with mixing boards, it's actually a bit awkward to use a control surface at first. I bought a Command|8 and I like using it now, but it takes a bit of work to get proficient at it. It's become part of my interaction with Pro Tools. I have no experience with using any other control surfaces with PT, but I like the Command|8. There are some things it can't do that I wish it could. You can't instantiate a plug-in with it. You can't change the automation mode with it. You still have to use the mouse and keyboard with the Command|8, but I find it's good for doing a first pass on automation while the audio is playing. Then I can go in with the mouse and fine-tune it. As for being worth the money, I think it was for me. I got another way to do things in Pro Tools. It is particularly nice to have physical faders and knobs as opposed to virtual ones. Turning knobs with a mouse on screen hasn't always been a pleasant experience for me. Real knobs are alot nicer. You should try to sit down and work with one a bit if you can. You might even want to try a Mackie Universal or a Tascam control surface.

gerax
09-04-2004, 04:07 AM
Hi